Residents have choices in city, school board races

Four candidates, including three incumbents, will vie for three seats on the Independent School District 834 Board and voters in several small cities must pick from multiple candidates for mayor and city council as the filing period for elections without primaries closed Tuesday.

However, Bayport voters will not have to select a mayor or two council members after incumbents Mayor Susan St. Ores and council members Connie Carlson and Dan Goldston had no opponents when filings closed.

Incumbent ISD 834 Board members Kathy Buchholz, George Dierberger and Mike Ptacek and challenger Amy Burback are seeking three board seats up for election this year. The top three finishers in the Nov. 6 election advance to the board.

Two well-known incumbent mayors face challenges this fall. Oak Park Heights Mayor David Beaudet is opposed by current City Councilwoman Mary McComber. And incumbent Lake Elmo Mayor Dean Johnston runs against challengers Nicholas Duffy and current city Councilman Mike Pearson.

In Lakeland, city councilman Richard Glasgow and residents Bill Livingston and Donald James Space are running for mayor to replace current Mayor Brian Zeller, who did not file for re-election.

And in Marine on St. Croix, incumbent Mayor Glen T. Mills is unopposed for another term when no one else filed.

In city council races, four Oak Park Heights residents vie for two council seats. Filing in that race were Chuck Dougherty, Mike Liljegren, Michael (Mike) Runk and Larry J. Viers.

In Lake Elmo, Justin Bloyer, Brett Emmons, Greg Hall and Anne Smith are seeking two seats on that city council.

The Lakeland City Council race to fill two seats was decided when Asia Bednar and Amy Williams were the only two candidates to file in that race.

Marine on St. Croix voters will select an at-large council member from five candidates: Andrew Lapos, Mary Anita Lusher, Lon Pardun, Sherrill Reid and Dan Willenbring. Bill Miller will fill another Marine at-large council seat after no one else filed for that special election.