Board names pair to county panels

Residents from Oakdale and May Township were appointed to two Washington County committees by the Board of Commissioners Tuesday.

Commissioners named Mary Ann Thelen of Oakdale to the Minnesota Extension Committee for the County and Andrew Weaver of May Township to the Carnelian-Marine-St. Croix Watershed District Board of Managers.

Thelen will serve her first term on the Extension Committee. Her term expires Dec. 31, 2014. Weaver will serve a three-year term on the watershed board. His term expires June 21, 2015.

County Extension Committee work includes educational programs and services provided by extension agents in the areas of agriculture, economic and human development, community leadership, and environment and natural resources.

The county Extension Committee works with the County Board through the Department of Public Health and Environment to meet its goals.

Watershed district governance is required by state statute and helps control or alleviate floodwater damage;  and provide for the protection of groundwater and regulation of groundwater use.