Local students receive Merit Scholarships

More than 2,500 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities were announced recently by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. (NMSC).

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2012 competition to approximately 4,800.

This year, 197 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 117 private and 80 public institutions located in 45 states and the District of Columbia.


Alexandra H. Atkins, Northwestern University scholarship

Alexander D. Medved, University of Minnesota scholarship

Lake Elmo

Andrew J. Senger, University of Minnesota scholarship