Education Briefs 5/30/13

Stillwater awarded Reading Corps Tutors

Minnesota Reading Corps officials announced last week that Stillwater Area Public Schools have been awarded eight Minnesota Reading Corps literacy tutors for the 2013-2014 school year.

The Reading Corps is a statewide initiative to help every Minnesota child become a successful reader by the end of third grade. Their plan is to have more than 1,000 reading and math tutors in Minnesota schools for the 2013-2014 school year.
“Stillwater was selected because of its commitment to helping all students realize their full potential,” said Sheila Piippo, the executive director of the organization.

Eitzman awarded scholarship

The Comcast Foundation has named Erik Eitzman of Stillwater Area High School a 2013 recipient of its annual leaders and achievers scholarship program.

Eitzman will be recognized at a 11:30 a.m. reception June 20.

Eitzman volunteers at the East Metro Women’s Council and has participated in two mission trips for his church. He also earned a National Eagle Scout award. He’s captain of the debate team and a member of the Science Bowl, Robotics and Math League Teams. He was a 2013 National Merit Semifinalist and will attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to study Actuarial Sciences.

Eitzman receives a one-time $1,000 scholarship.

2 awarded National Merit scholarships

Two area students were awarded National Merit Scholarships from U.S. Colleges.
The students are Karna S. Ringham of Stillwater, who attends Mahtomedi High School. She receives her scholarship from The University of South Carolina in Columbia, S.C. She plans to go into mathematics

David P. Kocik of Hudson, Wis., attends Hudson High School and received his scholarship from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. He plans to major in education.

Officials from each college selected their scholarship recipients from among 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program finalists planning to attend their institutions.
The awards provide between $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.