MnSCU honors four Century faculty members

Century College faculty members recognized April 17 by MnSCU were Susannah Dolance, left, Beth Rynders, school President Ron Anderson, Kerry Keenan and Emmanuel Doh. (Photo courtesy Century College)

WHITE BEAR LAKE — The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees honored four Century College faculty members with Outstanding Educator awards at a festive April 17 lunch in St. Paul.

The four are Emmanuel Doh (English), Susannah Dolance (Sociology), Kerry Keenan (Nursing) and Beth Rynders (Dental Assisting). President Ron Anderson, Vice President Suresh Tiwari and several faculty, staff, family members and friends were on hand to celebrate these awards, which are the highest honors that MnSCU bestows on faculty.
Nominations for this award are invited from all college employees, students and community members. All nominations are reviewed by the Center for Teaching and Learning Advisory Committee led by David Lyons and Amy Rafter. Based upon the committee’s recommendations, Vice President Tiwari announced the Century nominees.

This year, the MnSCU Educator of the Year Awards for Excellence in Teaching went to Andrew Aspaas of Anoka-Ramsey, Alan Erdahl of Riverland, Darci Goeden of Central Lakes and Susan Thaemert of Hennepin Technical College.

Last year, Phyllis Ballata of Century was named Educator of the Year, and in 2007, Michele Neaton received this award.

From 2007 to 2012, Century has honored the following college faculty members with Board Of Trustees nominations: Carl Gerriets, Georgeanne Ohmann, Michele Neaton, Patrick Mathias, Michele Jersak, Kris Peleg, Kim Schmitzer, Cullen Bailey Burns, Brian Lewis, Carl Chung, Cheryl Gfrerer, John Gingerich, Scott Simenson, Michelle Blesi and Phyllis Ballata.