Dayton names 2 Washington County residents to state Clean Water Council

Two Washington County residents and a former state lawmaker and department head were among eight persons appointed or re-appointed to the state’s Clean Water Council Tuesday by Gov. Mark Dayton.

Deborah Swackhammer of Stillwater was re-appointed higher education representative to the council and Patrick Flowers of Forest Lake was re-appointed as business organization representative on the panel.

Gene Merriam of Coon Rapids, former state representative and Department of Natural Resources commissioner, was re-appointed to the council as environmental representative.

Other persons named to the council were Pamela Blixt of Minneapolis representing watershed districts; Robert Hoefert of Isle representing farming organizations and replacing Scott Hoese; Mark Knoff of Mankato representing city government; Victoria Reinhardt of St. Paul representing metropolitan county governments, and John Underhill of Rochester representing fishing organizations.

All the terms are effective April 13 and expire Jan. 2, 2017.

The Clean Water Council is part of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and was created June 2, 2006. The group advises on the administration and implementation of the state Clean Water Legacy Act.