Alpine skiing: Stillwater turns back Zephyrs


AFTON — Competing in a rare nonconference dual meet, the Stillwater girls’ alpine ski team slipped past Mahtomedi for a 28-27 victory and the Stillwater boys cruised to a 49-6 triumph on Thursday at Afton Alps.

Mahtomedi featured each of the top three finishers in the girls’ competition, but the Ponies showed off their depth while grabbing the next seven places to pull out the narrow victory.

“I ran Steig (Peterson), Natalie (Gjermo) and Matt (Ludack) as forerunners tonight to give some of our younger skiers an opportunity to compete in a race,” Ponies coach Mary Parcheta said. “We have a lot of depth, which is really encouraging, but also hard in determining our sectional team. Other coaches wish they had the same problem, but I am really proud to be the coach of such great talent.”

Rachel Amos (1:14.49) and Maddie Neabauer (1:14.72) finished fourth and fifth to start Stillwater’s charge and teammates Claire Weber, Sydney Evensen, Kennedy O’Reilly, Maggie Raedeke and Ashley Ludack filled out the rest of the top 10. Mahtomedi’s Berit Thorson was the individual winner with a time of 1:10.23.

It was a more comfortable margin for the Stillwater boys, who occupied each of the top five places and eight of the top 10. Will Raedeke posted a winning time of 1:03.36 and teammates Zach Raven (1:05.53) and Brent Barclay (1:05.67) joined him in the top three.

n Also on Thursday, the Stillwater boys defeated the Zephyrs 43-12 in JV competition while the girls also defeated Mahtomedi 49-6.



Stillwater 28, Mahtomedi 27

1. Berit Thorson (Mah) 1:10.23; 2. Ingrid Foslien (Mah) 1:11.81; 3. Savannah Smith (Mah) 1:12.40; 4. Rachel Amos (St) 1:14.49; 5. Maddie Neubauer (St) 1:14.72; 6. Claire Weber (St) 1:15.05; 7. Sydney Evensen (St) 1:15.33; 8. Kennedy O’Reilly (St) 1:15.69; 9. Maggie Raedeke (St) 1:17.57; 10. Ashley Ludack (St) 1:17.74.



Stillwater 49, Mahtomedi 6

1. Will Raedeke (St) 1:03.36; 2. Zach Raven (St) 1:05.53; 3. Brent Barclay (St) 1:05.67; 4. Kyle Szczepanski (St) 1:06.66; 5. Patrick Allan (St) 1:07.63; 6. Will Crary (Mah) 1:08.51; 7. Cory Carlsen (St) 1:09.33; 8. Nick Skaret (St) 1:09.40; 9. Sam Skaret (St) 1:09.65; 10. Nate Westlund (Mah) 1:10.66.