Sports briefs: The Edge competitors win MBBL state titles

Edge competitors win titles at MBBL State Championships

Competitors who train at The Edge Martial Arts in Stillwater captured six state titles at the Minnesota Black Belt League State Championships on Dec. 17.

State champions from The Edge included: Kari Falaas (Women’s Division), Ian Holper (Men’s Lightweight), Carlee Schoenecker (Jr. Girls and Jr. Tag Team), Owen Landrud (Jr. Boys Short) and Ian Hudis (Jr. Boys Tall).

There were also several runner-up finishers in the event, a list that includes: Alex Jordan (Women’s) and Allie Jordan (Women’s), Zack Koppa (Men’s Lightweight) and Riley Ulven (Men’s Lightweight), Sam Koppa (Jr. Boys Short), Sam Nelson (Men’s Heavyweight), Jared Prom (Men’s Heavyweight) and Zack Koppa and Kari Falaas (Adult Tag Team).

The Edge Martial Arts offers classes for individuals ages 4 and older, led by instructor Nathan Thorn, a World Champion / 6th Degree Black Belt.


Mike Grant to speak at M.V.P. banquet on Saturday, Jan. 19

Tickets are available for the M.V.P. (Men. Value. Purpose) year-end banquet on Saturday, Jan. 19, which will include legendary football coach Mike Grant, who has led Eden Prairie to eight state championships in 21 seasons as the guest speaker. Grant has compiled a 228-23 record with 16 state tournament appearances since 1992.

A steak and lobster dinner is on the menu for the year-end banquet, which will take place in the Garden Room at Trinity Lutheran Church in Stillwater from 6-8 p.m. Unlike most M.V.P. events, registration and tickets must be purchased in advance and the cost for the year-end banquet is $35. On-line registration is available at


Retirement party for Johnson set for Saturday at The Grand

A retirement party for recently retired Stillwater boys’ soccer coach Phil Johnson will be held on Saturday, Jan. 5 at The Grand Ballroom in downtown Stillwater. The open-house style party will be held from 6-10 p.m.

Under Johnson’s guidance, the Ponies have not endured a losing season since 1983. His teams captured 17 conference titles and 16 section championships, including back-to-back state titles in 1995 and 1996.