Eder-Zdechlik, Linner win McLaughlin Scholarships


Recent Stillwater graduates Allison Eder-Zdechlik, left, and Tom Linner, right, are this year’s recipients of the Jim McLaughlin Scholarship.
Recent Stillwater graduates Allison Eder-Zdechlik, left, and Tom Linner, right, are this year’s recipients of the Jim McLaughlin Scholarship.

This year’s Jim McLaughlin Scholarship recipients enjoyed success in the classroom and individually in the sports of their choice, which also contributed to the tremendous success of their Stillwater Area High School teams.

Seniors Allison Eder-Zdechlik (girls hockey, softball) and Tom Linner (boys track and field, cross country) each contributed to two state championships on teams they captained during their distinguished prep careers.

The $2,500 McLaughlin Scholarships are presented annually to Stillwater seniors who display character, leadership, citizenship, scholarship and athletic ability. One of the criteria is that candidates have been selected the Most Valuable Player for one of the Stillwater varsity teams and the final decision is made by the Jim McLaughlin Scholarship committee.

Eder-Zdechlik was a key contributor for Stillwater’s 2009 state championship hockey team and was an all-state performer for the softball team that surprised many by winning the state title in softball this past spring. She was a two-time all-conference selection in each sport, earning a total of five letters in hockey and three in softball.

Eder-Zdechlik was also Stillwater’s Athena Award winner for 2012 and plans to continue her athletic career at Gustavus Adolphus.

Linner lettered in three sports for the Ponies, but made his biggest impact while contributing to state championships in track and field (2011) and cross country (2011). He was also a two-time letterwinner in Nordic skiing and is a member of the National Honor Society.

Linner, who plans to continue his running career at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, was a three-time All-SEC performer in cross country and a two-time honoree in track, where he also received all-state honors his junior and senior seasons. He was chosen MVP of the cross country team each of the past two seasons and also voted MVP in track this past spring.



Jim McLaughlin Scholarship winners


1981 — Laura Indereiden

1982 — Roger Roettger, Jr.

1983 — Dave Oden

1984 — Sara Howard

1985 — Kathy Jedrezek

1986 — Mike Brown

1987 — Kris Hansen

1988 — Danelle Zaspel and Sharm Scheuerman

1989 — Shannon Riley and Roger Coppa

1990 — Sara Hawkins and Rod Lundberg

1991 — Kellei Arkell and Glenn Harris

1992 — Holly Hargroder and Justen Seim

1993 — Renne Marie Kinney and Erik Bunce

1994 — Kelley Hudson and Chad Rogness

1995 — Carrie Palmer and Michael Schreifels

1996 — Kristine Scholz and Aaron Runk

1997 — Tai Thorsheim and Adam Runk

1998 — Jessica Kunz and Luke Watson

1999 — Molly Campbell and Andy Berg

2000 — Cally Stewart and Paul Dexter

2001 — Megan Fuches and Dain Larson

2002 — Jessie Preiner and Josh Matel

2003 — Katie Stalland and Mike Blythe

2004 — Paige Bromen and Andrew Schmiesing

2005 — Sara Stalland and Kevin Gullikson

2006 — Colleen Kopel and Connor Anderson

2007 — Maggie Lopac and Joe Stormont

2008 — Angie Wieden and Reid Gilbertson

2009 — Taylor Stippel and Luke Dewall

2010 — Jessie Diggins and Gabe Hanson

2011 — Kristin Sahr and Brett Ylonen

2012 — Allison Eder-Zdechlik and Tom Linner