6 file for 2 city council seats

[email protected]

Six Stillwater residents will seek two seats on the city council while a veteran state lawmaker opted out of a re-election bid at the last minute, citing health reasons when the filing period for federal, state, county and some city offices closed Tuesday.

There also will be races in three of the four Washington County Board seats up for election this year. District 3 Commissioner Gary Kriesel is unopposed and District 4 Commissioner Autumn Lehrke does not have to run again until 2014.

The filing period for races with primaries closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday. The state primary election is Aug. 14 and the general election Nov. 6.

Four people filed for the Stillwater Ward 2 council seat to replace incumbent Councilwoman Micky Cook, who announced earlier she would not seek re-election. The four Ward 2 candidates are Tom Corbett, Adam Frederick, Ted Kozlowski and Cassie McLemore.

Tom Weidman is challenging Incumbent City Councilman Jim Roush in the Ward 3 race.

At the state level, Sen. Ray Vandeveer, R-Forest Lake, decided not to seek another term in Senate District 39. Although he received the Republican endorsement for another term, Vandeveer told the "Forest Lake Times" that his decision was due to the onset of Parkinson’s disease, which he has been fighting for the last 10 years.

"It’s slowing me down. It’s having an impact," the veteran lawmaker told the Times.

Vandeveer said the recent "grueling" legislative session and evaluation of his physical condition led to his difficult decision that took into account his family.

""Yesterday about noon," Vandveer told the Times when asked when his final decision was made. "I love serving. It’s something I liked to do. It’s not about me."

Former state Rep. Julie Bunn, DFL-Lake Elmo, and Republicans Karin Housley and Eric Michael Langness all filed for Vandeveer’s Senate seat.

Vandeveer told the Times he would wait until after the endorsing convention to announce who he would support in the fall election.

The three contested county board races are in districts one, two and five. District 1 Commissioner and 2012 board chairman Dennis Hegberg of Forest Lake is challenged by Fran Miron of Forest Lake.

In District 2, incumbent Commission Bill Pulkrabek of Woodbury faces two challengers, Oakdale Mayor Ted Bearth and Oakdale resident Joseph T. Delaney.

District 5 Commissioner Lisa Weik of Woodbury runs against Nancy Remakel of Woodbury.

Voters also face winnowing down crowded fields in the U.S. Senate and several Congressional district races.

Incumbent Democratic U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar faces Democratic challengers "Dick" Franson, Jack Edward Shepard and Darryl Stanton in the August primary. Republicans Kurt Bills, David Carlson and Bob Carney Jr. and Independence Party candidates Glen R. Anderson Menge and Stephen Williams round out the field of U.S. Senate candidates.

In District 4, U.S. Rep Betty McCollum is challenged in the Democratic primary by Diana Longrie and Brian Stalboerger. The winner of that race faces Republican Ron Seiford and Independence Party hopeful Steve Carlson.

Incumbent District 6 U.S. Rep. Michelle Bachmann faces primary challenges from Aubrey Immelman and Stephen Thompson. The winner in that race faces Democrat Jim Graves in November.

Other filings in area races were:

State Senate District 38: Roger Chamberlain of Circle Pines and Timothy Henderson of Lino Lakes.

Senate District 53: Current Republican Sen. Ted Lillie, who moved into the district after he was redistricted into Vandeveer’s district, runs against Democrat Susan Kent of Woodbury.

State Senate District 54: Incumbent state Sen. Katie Sieben of Cottage Grove and challenger Janis Quinlen of St. Paul Park.

State House District 38B: House Republican Majority Leader Matt Dean of Dellwood faces Democrat Greg M. Pariseau.

State House District 39A: Incumbent Republican Rep. Bob Dettmer of Forest Lake faces Democrat John E. Bruno of Lindstrom.

State House District 39B: Incumbent Republican Rep. Kathy Lohmer is challenged by Democrat Tom DeGree of Lake Elmo.

State House District 53A: Incumbent Republican Rep. Andrea Kieffer of Woodbury faces Democratic challenger Ann Marie Metzger of Woodbury.

District 1 Soil and Water Supervisor: Randy S. Ferrin of Scandia and Bob Rosenquist of Hugo filed for the non-partisan position.

District 3 Soil and Water Supervisor: Sarah Hietpas of Lake Elmo and John Rheinberger of Stillwater filed for the non-partisan seat.