Sunrise Rotary program awards 14 scholarships

Fourteen Stillwater Area High School seniors were awarded STRIVE scholarships worth $5,250 by Sunrise Rotary Club at a recent breakfast.

The awards were the climax of an academic-improvement program in which Sunrise members work with cooperating seniors during the school year.

Twenty-six students, largest number ever, were mentored by 16 Sunrise members and spouses. STRIVE is a Rotary-developed program which stands for Students Taking a Renewed Interest in the Value of Education.

Kyler Kammeuller earned a scholarship for greatest improvement in grade point average and Zachary Larson earned a scholarship for highest GPA.

Twelve students received scholarships for perfect attendance at the monthly STRIVE meetings with mentors. They included Neal Gillett, Chauncey Heintz, Kyler Kammeuller, Madeline Knoll, Kaitlin Lahr, Zachary Larson, Megan Malon, Jessica Meister, Ashton Oliveira, Taylor Schmall, Matthew Steely and Kelsey Stevens. All scholarships are for use at educational institutions and go directly to the institution.

Other STRIVE students received certificates for completing the program, included Frank Berg, Grant Crampton, Katrina Crea, Tyler Diethart, Tony Eling, Tucker Gasperini, Will Gilberg, Mason Hood, Grant Koehler, Troy Niezgocki, Nicole Sanders, Dakota Severance, Chris Staberg and James Tipton.

The 16 mentors who helped students throughout the school year, including assistance in filling out college entrance forms and job resumes, were Brent Adams, Justin Bonestroo, Val Fisher, Mark Fisher, Ann Langer, Dave Langer, Craig Leiser, Liz McGinley, Bill Miller, David Nelson, Mary Parcheta, Kim Pepera, Liz Smith, Mel Sullivan, Dean Tibbetts and Noelle Volin.

SAHS students who are seniors next year and are interested in STRIVE can get application information at the Stillwater Sunrise Rotary website: Those interested in mentoring, and/or in being a sponsor can get application information at the same website.